Merging similar surfaces

Hi all,
newbie here - I have the situation where I have lots of surfaces coming from a cadquery representation, that I export as stl-representations and then remesh using mmgs. This works fine, except that in rather a lot of cases I have overlapping/touching surfaces. For my end use case (neutron transport) I need my surfaces to be exactly identical, if they are touching. Inside cadquery I can split the surfaces fine, but the remeshing process makes things unequal again.

Is there for instance a way where one can remesh partial meshes and stitch that together with an already “finished representation”?
Or can one check the generated mesh-surfaces for similarity?
Or does anyone have other ideas.

I do realize this is a somewhat vague question, but I am looking for ideas.
cheers
Erik

Hi,

I hope that I have well understood your issue (if you realize that it is not the case, do not hesitate to attach picture to illustrate your description, it can be really helpful).

In Mmg you can set required entities to forbid remeshing locally. In your case I guess that you want to preserve at least some edges and probably some triangles too.
You have an example of the syntax and of the behaviour of remeshing in presence of required entities here : Localized Remesh.

To preserve edges (resp. vertices) instead of triangles, you just have to replace the keyword by the good one and to use the RequiredEdges (resp RequiredVertices) keyword.

I hope that it will work for your test case.

Best Regards,
Algiane

Hi,
Thanks for the reply - I think this is exactly what I would like to do.