GMSH NodeData reading

Dear MMG community,

I’m new to MMG_3D and I’m trying to re-mesh a part firstly meshed in GMSH. The idea is to mesh a parallelipiped split in two parts : one should be isotropic and the other anisotropic. I first create a isotropic mesh in GMSH and give each part a different reference number. Based on these reference numbers, a NodeData section with a tensor metric is added to the .msh file with help of a small python script.

When I give this file to MMG_3D, it seems that the .msh format specifications are respected (at least MMG_3D reads the file without complaining) but later I get the following error :
Error: _MMG5_scaleMesh: at least 1 wrong metric (point 1 -> eigenvalues : 0.000000e+00 0.000000e+00 0.000000e+00).
metric tensor: 0.000000e+00 0.000000e+00 0.000000e+00 0.000000e+00 0.000000e+00 0.000000e+00.

Did I miss something in the tensor metric definition ? I tried to join the .msh file to this message in case it can help to solve the problem but as it is my first message, I’m not allowed to.

Thanks in advance,

Lionel Wilhelm

Hi Lionel,

Do you have 1 NodeData for your entire mesh or 1 NodeData for each mesh part?

Normally, Mmg read only 1 NodeData field and it must contain the same number of entities than the number of mesh vertices. Otherwise Mmg writes an error message:

** MISMATCHES DATA: THE NUMBER OF VERTICES IN THE MESH (1732) DIFFERS FROM THE NUMBER OF VERTICES IN THE SOLUTION (1731)

I don’t know what may happens in your case but maybe an example will help you: the cube_ani.msh (453.5 KB) mesh contains a mesh and the associated anisotropic metric (a constant metric of values 1000 0 0 0 1000 0 0 0 4).

I will look at the forum configuration to understand why you are not allowed to attach files to your post.

Regards,

Algiane

Hi,